But events The Arts, assistance to writers, seague is with other writers. Writers' League , and is for writers a non-profit corporation, funded in part by the City of Austin, open to all The a member newsletter, of Texas, Services who have an reague founded in include monthly interest in а writers programs 1981 and with an email bulletin, writing resource at 7 p.m. а center that serves current on tne membership third informal classes. the Texas Commission on the Arts, Thursday as a of approximately 1,600, clearinghouse 0 each retreats, awards monu for statewide writing events and offer provides information and programs and the National wide and other variety opportunities for network-Endowment for the provides technical of pecial events. The services and Writers' League of Texas 1501 W. Fifth St., Ste. E-2 Austin, TX 78703

The Fourteenth Annual

Violet Crown Book Awards



Sponsored by The Writers' League of Texas

Deadline: May 31, 2004

Entry forms available: WRITERS' LEAGUE OF TEXAS 1501 W. Fifth St., Ste. E-2 Austin, TX 78703 Call: 512.499.8914 / Fax: 512.499.0441

ORGANIZATION U.S.POSTAGE PERMIT NO. 125 AUSTIN, NONPRO PAID TEXAS

Email: wlt@writersleague.org Website: www.writersleague.org 2004 Violet Crown Book Awards Entry Form Deadline: May 31, 2004

Please print or type

Category: □ Fiction □ Nonfiction	Literary Prose & Poetry
Publisher:	
Publication date: Month	Year
Publisher's phone:	
Author (s):	
Address, City, State, Zip:	
Home phone:	
Daytime phone:	
Email Address:	

I hereby certify that I have received and read the 2004 Violet Crown Book Awards entry form and guidelines and will comply with their provisions and conditions. My \$20 entry fee and two (2) copies of the book are enclosed.

Person Filing Entry:

Signature

Book Title:

Printed Name

Date

MEMBERSHIP INFORMATION

- ___ I am a member of Writers' League of Texas Membership dues are enclosed
 - \$50 Regular, \$45 Students and those over 55, \$70 Family

Mail or deliver entries to: Writers' League of Texas 1501 W. 5th St., Ste. E-2, Austin, TX 78703

2004 Violet Crown Book Awards

he Writers' League of Texas sponsors the Fourteenth Annual Violet Crown Book Awards to honor three outstanding published books written by Writers' League of Texas members. The name of the awards comes from an O. Henry phrase describing Austin as "the city of the Violet Crown." The intent of the awards is to recognize, encourage and sustain talented writers. We trust O. Henry would approve.

2003 Winners Include

Fiction: Sleep Toward Heaven by Amanda Eyre Ward Finalists: Isle of Misfortune by Geoffrey Leavenworth The Box Children by Sharon Wyse

Nonfiction: Growing Up Simple... In Texas by George Arnold Finalists: Kings of Texas by Don Graham City on Fire by Bill Minutaglio

Literary Prose & Poetry Winner: Harm by Miles Wilson Finalists: Songs for a Single String by Jesús Gardea, trans. by Robert L. Giron I Am Not the Woman I Was by Frances Nail

Mail or deliver entries to: WRITERS' LEAGUE OF TEXAS 1501 West 5th St., Ste. E-2 Austin, TX 78703

EMAIL: WLT@WRITERSLEAGUE.ORG

VISIT: WWW.WRITERSLEAGUE.ORG

Guidelines

- Authors must be Writers' League of Texas members, but may join when the entry is submitted.
- The book must have been published between **June 1, 2003** and **May 31, 2004**.
- A fee of \$20, a completed form, and **two (2)** copies of the book must accompany the entry. All books become the property of the Writers' League of Texas library and will not be returned.
- All entries must be postmarked no later than May 31, 2004, or may be hand-delivered by May 31, 2004, to the Writers' League of Texas office during regular office hours, noon to 6 p.m., Tuesdays through Fridays.
- Collected works must be written by a single author. Anthologies that include works of several authors are not eligible.

Prizes

\$1,000 cash and trophy to the winner in each category !

Judges reserve the right to eliminate or substitute categories. Special citations may be presented for other books which show outstanding merit, uniqueness or design.

Additional Information:

You may join the League when you submit your entry. A publisher may pay the membership fee for the author. Membership categories are \$50 Regular, \$45 for Students and Senior Citizens (over 55), and \$70 Family.

A panel of judges who are not members of the Writers' League of Texas will jury the entries and select the winners.

If a book has multiple authors, the award will go to the League member, but co-authors will be recognized. If all authors are League members, the award will be given to all authors and the cash award should be divided among them. The Writers' League of Texas will not be responsible for prize distribution among multiple authors.

Awards will be presented in September 2004. Only finalists will be notified prior to the awards ceremony. The public is invited to the ceremony and the reception.

The mission of the Writers' League of Texas is to promote and celebrate the written word as art by providing educational and technical assistance to writers, from beginning to professional, and to serve as an umbrella and public clearinghouse for literary activities and events in Texas.

